Don’t hold back

I’ve had trouble sleeping the past few nights. Throughout the horrendous helpless downfall of Penn State, my heart breaks, along with many across this country, for the victims in this scandal. If you watch sports at all, you’re conscious of the Penn State case. And if you have a heart, which I’m positive we all do – you’re sensitive to this unraveling tragedy of man’s inhumanity to man.

Tears fill my eyes when I think of the years of choices leading up to this moment. But I am with Tony Dungy when I say that the position of leadership is unquestionably responsible. But if I must remember, we are all human. We are guaranteed to make mistakes in our sinful, egocentric tendencies.

But that truth is anything but an excuse for evil.

Just as much as we are inclined to fault and disappoint one another, we are inclined to love and cherish our brothers and sisters throughout the human race. When one falls, how sad for no one to pick him up. Accountability, encouragement and honesty are the foundation for a man’s progress in life. I’m scared to think about where I’d be without the conviction and truthfulness of my peers.

1 Thessalonians 5:11
“Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.”

Would you rather lead your own way, seeing from only one pair of eyes your entire life? Or do you seek for accountability and stability when you seem to lose your way?

Ephesians 4:25
“Laying aside falsehood, speak truth, each one of you, with his neighbor, for we are members of one another.”

The administration at Penn State has been exposed for their lack of trustworthiness, for their faults within such a seemingly tight-knit group of grown, mature men. As I stated earlier, we are all guilty for making mistakes and falling short of what is good and right. But there is a bold line between making a mistake and making a choice. And that’s where my heart breaks – for the victims of those choices. Men in national-spotlight leadership positions have withheld secrets, chose to turn their back on abuse, and have epitomized selfishness. Mistakes transferred to habit and will be solidified into history… from lack of accountability.

Even if it’s uncomfortable, if there’s a gray area, it’s not our job to sulk in the shadows and hold back our ability to prevent evil. I was not created to watch the world pass me by, influencing me here and there. I am purposefully living to change the world and the things in it. And I refuse to be passive.

Leave a Reply

