Summer recap…

Guys, it really has been a while… I’ve been busy soaking up EVERY minute of my last semester here at Baylor. Here’s our minute to step out of the moment and recap the past few months of summer.

I spent my summer months interning with CBS 11/TXA 21 sports in DFW. I was able to spend time around some of DFW’s most familiar sportscasting faces, during a very special time in our town. I was able to enjoy the Maverick’s world championship win and parade, spend time with the Texas Rangers, attend the celebrity home run derby in Frisco, join Steve Dennis and Babe Laufenburg live during a show, (they had fun with that), take stadium tours, run around the Byron Nelson like I somehow belonged there… and so much more.

The sports producers, anchors and photographers invested their precious time in me and I’m thankful for the days they spent with me. I’m constantly asking questions and trying to get my hands on something – they call me the ‘go-getter’ – and the producers entrusted me with opportunities to contribute.

Every day, I had a blissful hour-long drive both ways from the station. I obviously had time to myself to think, pray and dream about the millions of things going on in different areas of my life. I want to say that my internship experience gave me the perfect, crystal clear picture of what I want my life to look like; for a while, it did. But somehow through the long hours of working, driving, losing sleep and gaining understanding of the world I’m about to dive into, it hit me like a ton of bricks.

My life – our lives – have purpose to it. Our careers and occupations are not the purpose, they are the platform. As much as I love sitting in the dugout to watch three hours of pre-game warmups with the Rangers, that isn’t the reason I’m here on this earth.

Being around sports is what I want to spend my life doing – but it is my platform for actually living. I’m 1000% positive that I’m called to serve, encourage and show love to the people placed in my life. That’s why I’m here, that’s why I’m living. I’m just so thankful that there’s something as beautiful and riveting as athletics that I get to enjoy as I live it all out!

1 Peter 4:10 – “Each of [us] should use whatever gift [we] have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”

As excited I am to chase my dreams… It’s ultimately not about me! I’m extremely thankful for solitude summer nights and time with my family to knock everything into perspective these past few months. Prioritizing is so vital to living a balanced life, and this is where I want to stay.

Hope you guys are doing wonderful, wherever you are in your life. If things don’t seem right, put yourself last, and everything will fall into place.

One thought on “Summer recap…

  1. Hey girl, I just found this blog and was super encouraged. Thanks for sharing your fresh perspective. When things get dim, I realize I’m just looking at myself. It’s using our lives as a platform for God’s light that makes our smiles a little brighter. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

