True beauty

Out of all the places I could travel, things I could pursue, paths I could venture, dreams I could chase and goals I could set, at the top of my list there’s one thing I know I must do in this life. And it actually doesn’t involve doing anything for myself.

It is, of course, geared toward servanthood, compassion, selflessness, giving, and having untaught, incomprehensible beauty. I know she can never be replicated – but I’m giving it a shot. This one’s for you, mom.

Literally cheerful from the moment she wakes up until the moment she goes to sleep, which only lasts about five hours every night, my mom juggles a thousand things a day and never loses generosity of heart. When I come home from school and spend a non-stop, gas-guzzling, never-ending Saturday with her, I ask myself, “Seriously? How does she have the time and patience to have a texting conversation with me about the new yogurt I just tried…?” It blows my mind.

It would literally be humorous for me to try and blueprint one single day in the life of Donna. Oh, for you to be a fly on the wall… But here’s the beauty of her busyness. When mom gets to you, whether it’s on the phone, when she drives to meet you, or runs into you by anything but random chance – you’re almost certain you’re the only thing in the world that matters at that point in time.

I can’t begin to wrap my mind around the servanthood of my mom in my life alone. And I’m just one person – of millions – across the country she’s persistently sought after and influenced. I’ve learned more sitting on my bed talking with her than I’ve learned in my two very respected educations. I’ve confided and trusted in her more than I have with any other woman, including my friends. She’s the foundation of love for our family – and I truly believe that my family is one of the most unique on the planet. We all five laugh until we cry – on a daily basis – we cherish and value the most meaningful things in life, we have uncontainable joy in the simplest of conditions and we would do absolutely anything for each other. That kind of love can’t be taught. It flows from my parents.

“Behind every great man, there’s an even greater woman.”

I struggle when I try and validate that statement. The strongest, toughest, yet most loving man I know is my dad. He’s my rock. I love joking with him about being single and blaming him, saying I haven’t found anyone like him yet. But to put it plainly… I know he wouldn’t be the same man without my mom. Everyone she has encountered would lack their greatest quality. It is what it is.

I wish I could voice all of the world’s appreciation for such an influential and inspiring person, but I’d literally have a never ending post. I’ll leave you with this. My mom is the way she is because she’s never said “No” to God. Faithful and fearful of His words and commandments, she’s walked in His light her entire life. Unafraid of the world’s judgment, unmoved by the crashing waves of mainstream standards, and unchanged by such a shaky and ever changing world, she has remained the same. Seeking, serving, loving, and encouraging. Faithfully.

I walk closely behind my mom because she walks closely behind the Lord – and there’s no where else I’d rather be.

Proverbs 31:30: “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there. Your unconditional love to us does not go unnoticed. We are all so very thankful!

Leave a Reply

