Our everyday choice

I was disappointed today when the camera panned through the Tampa Bay Rays dugout. Shields was losing it, Shoppach was OBVIOUSLY losing it, (catchers. don’t. do. that.)…all the while Coach Maddon (who was ejected for arguing a checked swing) was probably sitting in the clubhouse praying that SOMEONE up there was claiming leadership for the game’s sake. To me, the Rays were just offbeat and a step behind in key plays. But their missing link doesn’t trace back to the field errors.

The Rays, the Rangers, the man selling hotdogs – EVERYONE – has a fair choice on how to react to the game events. Here’s the rundown of what exactly happens: Choose. Then act.

And only you can choose.

My little brother Ryan is a stud…I honestly don’t know any other way to say it. Sure, I’m biased, but ask anyone – ANYONE – who’s coached him, taught him, been in class with him or watched him compete. His select baseball coach (former youth minister and scout for the Braves,) tells my dad as they coach together, “I’ve never coached or been around anyone like Ryan before.” Switch to football: his quarterback coach tells me he’s a blast to be around because the team always follows as he leads. At his baseball team banquet this year, Ryan opened the ceremonies with a prayer. After he said “Amen,” my mom overheard the LSU head baseball coach lean over to his buddy and say, “I am keeping my eye on Ryan Cash as he grows up.” He called him “Cash Money” on stage the rest of the night. It’s safe to say it…people are drawn to Ryan.

You are too, right? I mean, come on, if you trust me at all, somewhere inside of you is now wanting to believe that Ryan Cash has something extraordinary to him. Hang on – did you notice I didn’t describe one ounce of his athletic ability to you? Ryan is 13 years old. A 13-year-old boy. With the most sound and solid attitude of any person I know on this earth.

Being a Cash kid isn’t easy. We are naturally hungry competitors, putting ourselves in positions to compete and be tested whenever we can. My mom and I laughed on the phone tonight about the never-ending competition. I told her, “Hey. We’ve been talking on the phone for 20 minutes now breaking down my flag football game.” And winning is fun – sports are fun – if you have something going for you.

Let me tell you something, losing team, coach-less team, underdog. You CAN have a guaranteed thing going for you as you prepare to battle. The choice is yours.

If you haven’t caught on yet, I’m a huge believer that ATTITUDE IS EVERYTHING: the element, the assurance, the choice that’s completely yours regardless of surrounding circumstances. ONE choice generates momentum. When people see you raw, stripped of skill, ability and perfect circumstances, they witness your choice. So… make your choice. And you tell me what happens next.

Leave a Reply

